| Make This Motion Count |

So wordpress tells me someone found my blog by typing in “supreme wisdom”

I’m so sorry if you were expecting the Dalai Lama and got me instead.

I know it might have come as quite a shock.

Hopefully you’ll still accept my arb little life anyway.

Today I actually had quite a supreme day.

Two hours of rehearsal for my group children’s theatre piece.

One hour for my duet for physical theatre piece.

An hour and a half in the library wrestling with satan the photocopying machine AND the stapler AND anything material it seems.

(But at least I know have a bazillion notes on Romanticism and Postcolonialism to use for my looming torture exams)

AND then I went and got chinner (lunch + dinner) at Steers.

AND then I went to church at 5pm

AND I got home at 9pm.

SUNDAY’S QUOTE: (learn or burn) (that means write it on the tablet of your heart) (with Artline700 High Performance fiber tip Permanent Marker) (not in black, that’s the devil’s colour) (try pink for girls and blue for boys) (okay here we gooo)

IF YOU DOUBT, OR LACK FAITH, GOD WILL GIVE YOU NOTHING.

James 1:5-7 in the NIV says these lovely, merciful and unconditionally-loving words:

If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him. 6But when he asks, he must believe and not doubt, because he who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. 7That man should not think he will receive anything from the Lord; 8he is a double-minded man, unstable in all he does.

Ah, so that means that now I, and I’m sure hundreds like me, doubt God, doubt the church, but I cry out HELP ME DUDE!!! I don’t know anything about you, maybe you’re actually horrible and mean, or nonexistent, but if you are there I think you might be good and powerful enough to help me!

But God, according to James guy, and my interpretation, says, YAH NORT HEY. YOU’RE UNSTABLE LIKE A TABLE (RHYME!) WITH THREE LEGS, AND I’M AWESOME GOD, SO SORRY FOR YOU! YOU RECEIVE NUTHIN’! YOU RECEIVE ZILCH TILL YOU TOTALLY BELIEVE IN ME.

(but how is that possible, oh Cheesus, when I doubt you, and need you to come through for me so I can believe in you?)

EITHER YOU ASK AND TOTALLY BELIEVE, AND THEN I BLESS YOU (SOMETIMES) (TERMS AND CONDITIONS APPLY) (YOU WILL NEVER KNOW THOSE TERMS AND CONDITIONS) *

OR, YOU ASK AND DOUBT, AND YOU GET ZIPPO! YE? YE??

* OH, AND EVEN WHEN YOU TOTALLY BELIEVE ME, I MIGHT STILL ALLOW SOME OF YOUR BABIES TO DIE OF LEUKEMIA OR AIDS, EVEN THOUGH YOU PRAYED YOUR HEART OUT AND HAD FAITH IN THEIR HEALING.

AND YOUR CHURCH WILL SPEAK WORDS OF WISDOM INTO YOUR HEART THAT SAY, CHILD OF GOD, THE ‘MOUNTAIN DID NOT MOVE’ BECAUSE YOU DIDN’T HAVE A HEART FILLED WITH THE REVELATIONS OF GOD, WHICH BRING YOU FAITH. YOU ASKED FOR SOMETHING BUT DIDN’T REALLY HAVE FAITH FOR IT TO HAPPEN.

My Sunday confession: I thought of throwing my Bible, of burning it, of resigning from Projector Min at the end of this Semester (july), I observed (perved) over some cute guy in the church…

All this while working the projector which displays the lyrics on the screen for the congregation to sing. HOSAAANNA HOSAAANNA click repeat click repeat click repeat GOD OF TRUTH AND LIFE

[also, apologies for the crap formatting. I don’t know how to get larger spacing btwn lines (ie double or at least 1.5 spacing), and my paragraphs also don’t seem to separate, and sob sob fix it.]

Comments on: "Supreme Wisdom and Four Hours of Facepalm" (8)

  1. HAHAHAHHAAA – I totally wrote about the exact same thing here: http://zeekeekee.wordpress.com/2009/04/09/why-infomercials-should-be-played-in-churches/

    “AND YOUR CHURCH WILL SPEAK WORDS OF WISDOM INTO YOUR HEART THAT SAY, CHILD OF GOD, THE ‘MOUNTAIN DID NOT MOVE’ BECAUSE YOU DIDN’T HAVE A HEART FILLED WITH THE REVELATIONS OF GOD, WHICH BRING YOU FAITH. YOU ASKED FOR SOMETHING BUT DIDN’T REALLY HAVE FAITH FOR IT TO HAPPEN.”

    LOLOLOLOL – this is SO true, and it’s actually scary how it feeds the cycle. Actually makes me pretty angry for all the people who are getting messed up from it.

  2. Just looking at your thoughts panel on the side (great idea!!) You don’t have to have a label, you know. I’m with Greg on this one: screw the labels! I sometimes worry that I put the atheist label on me too soon, but then I think about this: Most of us (atheists) are agnostic atheists – that is, we don’t try to say that we know 100% that God doesn’t exist – we just accept that all evidence points in the other direction, and we live as such. It’s about finding meaning in your life that changes with you, that’s about you and for you – it’s not selfish, it’s necessary. This is one life, and we all want it to be the best we can, take responsibility for our lives, which isn’t scary – it’s liberating!
    Maybe there is a God, but then I would naturally question what the nature of an aloof, distant God is in terms of needing our worship and prayer and acknowledgment. What’s obvious is that we’re not getting answers anytime soon – so claims about the afterlife etc. are exactly that. It seems silly to waste life, especially based on the weakest claim of a religion that is pocked with weak claims.
    As for believing in something supernatural, believing in a communion – well, that’s the same deal really – it’s still a belief. If you can’t say it happened the way you can say we met for pizza a while ago, then it’s belief.

    • Agreed about no labels, I’m very much on the downlo about it now tho. Like, my digsmates know all about it, and obviously it’s on my blog, but most people at church think i’m happily merrily pottering along. My cell group knew I was having problems, but i sadly had to stop attending it becos it clashed with drama pracs. no sarcasm there, it’s like the only part of church i still love and feel comfortable in, so im way bleak i have to miss it. people say i shud find a new cell, but i dnt see the point. i dont believe the bible, and my old cell is the only group of church kids that know me deeply and would still welcome me and discuss things with me regardless. sighs.

      And yeah, i get that it’s a belief, but it’s a firm one i have. i dont doubt the existence of God, it just feels fine, and yeah *shrug shoulders*, i have no reasons for it, but it feels like something’s there. as for what the bible says about him, pretty much, fucking no. either God loves us all unconditionally, or he sends some of us to hell. the two cannot be one. that’s fucked up. undersandable maybe in a crazy human, who says i love u kids, and then beats them to death, but not in a just and perfect God.

  3. I really struggled with that verse in James when I started to doubt/disbelieve the bible. It’s like James saying “you’re in, or you’re out.” I lump it in with the warning verses elsewhere in the NT, guys saying, “Believe what we tell you to, or you’re going to burn forever.” Scary warning on one hand, on the other hand just what one expects from people who want to manipulate you to believe what they want you to believe.

    • Exactly. Nessie explains it so much better than me in that post of hers ‘why infomercials should be played in churches.’ it pisses me off that it’s so black and white. I just hope the Bible is wrong, i hope God isn’t actually like that. How could God be so black and white, when he’s seen the horrific consequences that kind of manichean/binary thinking has brought to the world??

  4. well, to be truthful, i can’t connect with that much , although I understand the pain the thought of an eternity in hell causes.

    • Yeah, it’s kind of like..even if I personally do all i can (ironically..you shouldn’t have to DO anything) to get into heaven, i may never be able to “save” those around me. meh.

  5. btw talking about wordpress searches , the latest one seems to be girls pissing in the grass. Weird. And the last couple were http://zealofheretic.wordpress.com/2009/05/05/of-people-and-searches/

    Not one sensible search listing on my blog.

Leave a Reply

