| Make This Motion Count |

Wings


He will cover you with His feathers,
and under His wings you will find refuge;
His faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.
(Psalm 91:4, NIV)

In a study room
The socks smell faintly
The coffee strongly
I am distracted
My nails disgusted
With my violent teeth.

And there you are
Floating
Surrounded like me, by pages
Calculator ruler rubber shavings
It’s been a long night for you.
You finish the chapter
And you reach for another book.

Among all your economic
Financial statistic blah blah
To me this one looks familiar.
You’ve cracked it open more than halfway,
There’s a lot of red text
I’m guessing you’re in Romans, maybe John.

You don’t turn, shift, speak.
Simply absorb, smile, internally nod
And I think you feel you’ve just lifted a car
With one hand.
I feel like it just fell on me.

There’s that look again – you smile, knowingly.
He loves me, He strengthens me. Do not doubt it.
Oh, how it fills you.
You’re satiated now, you have purpose now.
Having filled your cup, you pack up
Leaving me to my notes and my bubbling coffee
Staring out the barred windows into the black,
Starless sky.

Where are your wings now, oh God?

Comments on: "Wings" (11)

  1. I love you. I’m sorry you’re going through this difficulty, all I can say is that things don’t stay this way forever, no matter what you choose to believe or not believe. Always here to listen if you want to vent. xx

  2. Awwies ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks my friend ๐Ÿ™‚ i know things will improve, but it’s the process of change right now that is the most painful. I’m going to church this Sunday to do my shift, and then going to muster up the guts to chat to the leader in charge of the work i do.. eep.. My friend suggested I say im just too busy with rehearsals, but again, i don’t want to lie. The truth is I don’t believe their truth right now.

    Love you lots and lots too ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’ve just spent half an hour drying my hair, now look like an electrocuted lion ๐Ÿ˜€ have a rad day ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Promises and expectations. Always let us down , well.. lets me down, and not only with religion. I luckily never expected anything from faith, never prayed for that exact same reason.

    • youve never ever prayed? wow..

      I always tend to expect the worse,but after 5 years of christianity id really grown to trust it… I doubt most things in my life, considering i get so anxious and stuff, but God was always the drawing board to go back to, the foundation that doesnt crumble, insert another metaphor here, so I guess that’s why i’ve freaked out so much about it. I expect losing friends, I expect being dumped – was never expecting to lose my relationship with God.

  4. In Hinduism there’s a bent of philosophy, that asks of it’s followers not to pray and wish for anything worldly. Cause finally everything that we perceive as reality is false, maya. I never prayed , neither thanking a God , “Thank you for the wonderful life you’ve given me , while there are millions of homeless children” . Never wished for anything material.

    We have a very impersonal , supra-ethical god. A Brahman. The cause of the universe. Not a personal , personified God that Christianity seems to offer. It’s always been easier for me.

    • Oh okay, I understand that. That’s pretty interesting. I don’t know that much about Hinduism I’m afraid.. In primary school we were made to do little research projects on the four main religions of the world, but i can remember pretty much nothing O.o

      as for your gravatar, i dont know! It’s showing on my Recent Comments page, which is super weird, considering it doesn’t ever show on my actual blog. I dont think it’s my settings, cos like 3 other ppl’s gravatars do show. Maybe check your settings?

  5. why on earth does my gravatar not show up on ur blog?

  6. Will do. I’m a tad lazy to fiddle around with settings right now. btw , do visit my stills and life page on the blog and let me know what you think ๐Ÿ™‚

    • thanks, will do! After saturday my life changes radically, in that my hardest exams are over and i get my shit together. semester one was really bad on the academic front- never been so disorganised and haphazard. am starting to prepare asap for semester two, to avoid same kind of crap happening. So expectcomments from me on the stills after sat!

  7. Best of luck with the exams. Although , my luck is known to fail. It’s the thought that counts ๐Ÿ˜›

    • hahaha thanks, i still need to read about 100 pages of “Things Fall Apart”, but I think i’ll be ready by tomorrow afternoon.

Leave a Reply

