| Make This Motion Count |

Thunder

She gave in to the eyes she saw today

A message, would you like to chat?

A reply

Which, before even read, caused more tidal waves than he could possibly imagine, more receding water lines, more drowning navy depths.

Okay. Im free on Monday. I take it this won’t be a light-hearted conversation

I reply. I explain.

He doesn’t reply.

I reply again.

But I do not want to play scrabble and formulate a reason out of the scraps you give me.

So I say goodnight. I’ll see you Monday, if you wish to let me know when.

Above Regina Spektor’s resounding voice,

The Grahamstown sky cracks open

In drumrolls of thunder

Like God is listening

And with his stethoscope he echoes my heartbeat

Pounding and pounding

The waves, my heart, the skies

The skies, my heart, the waves

And suddenly the rain comes

Bashing into my roof

One minute three five

And it stops

A sign of baptism, perhaps,

Renewal and breath

Or perhaps

An introduction

To the lightning.

The sleeping pill travels swiftly from finger to lips

As I climb into bed I can only hope that S-S-Sedative

Will soften the pounding all around me, all inside me.

Thunder envelops me. Sedative. Thunder. Shhh.

She gave in to the eyes she saw today

A message, would you like to chat?

A reply

Which, before even read, caused more tidal waves than he could possibly imagine, more receding water lines, more drowning navy depths.

Okay. Im free on Monday. I take it this won’t be a light-hearted conversation

I reply. I explain.

He doesn’t’ reply.

I reply. I do not want to play scrabble and formulate a reason out of the scraps you give me.

So I say goodnight. I’ll see you Monday, if you wish to let me know when.

Above Regina Spektor’s resounding voice,

The Grahamstown sky cracks open

In drumrolls of thunder

Like God is listening

And with his stethoscope he echoes my heartbeat

Pounding and pounding

The waves, my heart, the skies

The skies, my heart, the waves

And suddenly the rain comes

Bashing into my roof

One minute three five

And it stops

A sign of baptism, perhaps,

Renewal and breath

Or perhaps

An introduction

To the lightning

The sleeping pill travels swiftly from finger to lips

As I climb into bed I can only hope that S-S-Sedative

Will soften the pounding all around me, all inside me.

Thunder envelops me. Sedative. Thunder. Shhh.

Comments on: "Thunder" (2)

  1. You know I’m here for you. (((hugs)))

Leave a Reply

