| Make This Motion Count |

Says my mother across a table of pretty, colourful plates, and lunch leftovers.

You are never home.
All you want to do is see your friends.

Yes – because when I am home, you’re either out at work/shops, or you’re arguing with me
I keep going out because I breathe easier than living here
Because I have to hide myself from you here
Because you won’t accept my issues, or my lifestyle in their entirety
Because when we speak we misinterpret each other
Because I am not your 12 year old baby
I am your 20 year old daughter
I think and I change my mind
And anyway I’ve never done things right in your opinion
And why should I be untrue to myself to please you?

Leave a Reply

