| Make This Motion Count |

Back to Back

It’s a siff taste in my mouth tonight
It’s easy to ignore you when you’re invisible,
But come into the same room as me, and I’m stifled.
Can’t think, aside from the same, drumming thought: I should speak to you, I should say…something.
I should speak to you, I should say…anything.
Anything – to establish a link by my words alone.
As if that could work.
But I hold back, and bite down on my unspoken words.
I keep laughing
My friends propping me up
Their smiles keeping me solid
I turn my head
And I realise
Now
We are sitting back to back
On the same table
We say nothing
I look your way again and again
Not that I would dare say the first word,
But neither do you.
We sit there, back to back
Like complete strangers,
or embarrassed ex-lovers.

Leave a Reply

