| Make This Motion Count |

Disclaimer: I may be blowing the Rhodes horn again

Zanne Solomon in Shaggy

This piece made me laugh – but I don’t think it was as good as it could’ve been…Maybe a bit more humour in the script, a little more direction could have made the piece better. Generally I think Anton Krueger & Pravasan Pillay have created an array of hilarious characters who have fascinating stories, and have room to grow. Zanne Solomon and Tristan Jacobs, both Rhodes graduates, were perfect for the parts, and also looked great onstage, on the posters and flyers… They each portray several quirky, South African characters, in separate monologues.

Zanne has a knack for developing incredibly quirky gestures or mannerisms which just give her characters that extra factor…it’s hard to describe it, but when you see her onstage, you can’t help but be enthralled.

Tristan Jacobs in Shaggy (http://cuepix.ru.ac.za)

Tristan has the ability to make every single part of his body, even his ankles, ridiculously expressive.

He is right up there with my Fest heroes Daniel Buckland and Liezl de Kock, because he performed in FOUR shows this Festival. I suspect he wasn’t even on steroids.

He just pushed through and gave his all at all times, and I really respect him for that. He’s also really humble and anyone who reads my blog knows that I make up for my lack of humility by worshipping this trait in other people.

Overall, I think it was a good show, but I’d have tweaked quite a few aspects of the script. Kudos to Rhodes for yet again featuring such talent!

Leave a Reply

