| Make This Motion Count |

Despite being a huge fan of Tristan Jacobs, I was disappointed with this piece. I thought it was a good first attempt, but what let me down was mostly the directing. I think Tristan performed with utmost passion and focus, but he ultimately gave the impression of not having been directed. Which came as a shock to me when I looked at the program and realised that Rob Haxton, whose latest works Rubber and Bent I absolutely adored, had directed this.

Tristan Jacobs (http://cuepix.ru.ac.za)

Dedicado deals with the paradoxical fragility and resilience of heritage. In Tristan’s case, his Portuguese family heritage. I struggled to follow the narrative, but I gathered he was on a search for this heritage, haunted by dreams of his grandfather.

The work makes use of physical theatre – at which Tristan is so,so good – as well as some Butoh-esque, surrealist dream sequences.

In my opinion, it could do with a much tighter directorial approach, because although a lot of passion clearly moved the piece, its final storyline and message were not clear enough to me.

Leave a Reply

