| Make This Motion Count |

Over and Out

It’s finally time to say goodbye to this blog. I’ve been pretty absent this year, probably because as I got entangled with work experience and the professional life, there was less and less I could write about freely without risking some scary disciplinary hearing 😛

It’s the day before Christmas and my Checklist for 2012 is complete. All I need now is for it to actually be 2012. On January 1, 2012, I will board a plane for Europe. I don’t know when I’m coming back.

All I know is I need this. I know I’ll miss my family and friends, but coming back to Durban was only ever going to be temporary.

Four years in Grahamstown I will never forget, but the frames of High, African and Somerset Street were much too tight to keep me in.

This year I found something that I can only really describe as a miracle.

I found a man worthy of my time. Ten months later, my EU passport sits next to his UK Ancestry Visa, our Northface jackets match (by pure accident, I swear), and on Google Maps we measure the few kilometres between our future homes.

How surreal to board a plane knowing only fragments of what is to come.

I don’t know what I will find when I land in Bristol, but I know for sure I will document what I can of it. But not here. This chapter must close.

To all three people who have followed these ramblings over the years, and most importantly, who have been my friends over these years, thank you 🙂

I’ll link you to my new blog once it’s up 🙂

It’s time to string up the tinsel.

x

Comments on: "Over and Out" (1)

  1. Marty,

    Best of luck to you in your travels and especially for stepping into the unknown. I just took three months of my life traveling with absolutely no plans or agenda and it seems as though I may have discovered more of myself and life in this sort time than the rest of my time on the Earth combined. It’s amazing the amount of fear that arises without the safety net of “plans”, and how much you see of yourself in that fear.
    I hope your days are filled with a lack of expectation and fresh life. I’ll miss your unique and direct voice (type).

    To stepping into teh unknown,always

Leave a Reply

